Arjun Deo Charan

Born on 10 May 1954 in Mathania village in Jodhpur district of Rajasthan , Shri Arjun Deo Charan is an eminent Rajasthani playwright and director. He is also a well-known poet and critic. Shri Charan holds a doctoral degree for his research into Rajasthan 's performing arts, and is currently Professor and Head of the Rajasthani Department at Jai Narayan Vyas University, Jodhpur. He was appointed Chairman of Rajasthan Sangeet Natak Akademi in 2011.
Since the 1980s, Shri Arjun Deo Charan has been acknowledged as a new voice in Ra jasthani drama. His plays Tattvamasi, Jethva Ujali and Mugti Gatha, written and directed by himself, were featured in the Zonal Theatre Festivals of new productions presented by Sangeet Natak Akademi. Besides these early works, Shri Charan has written a number of plays including Jatra, Aje Sein Baki Hai, Balidan, Jamleela, Bol Mhari Machhli Itto Pani, Teen Din, Sankariyo, Gavadi, Hemani, Mhe Raja The Parja, and Satyagrah. Other than Drama, Shri Charan’s literary output includes collections of poetry such as Rindhrohi and Gharto e Nam Hai Bharose Ro; works of criticism like Rajasthani Kahani Parampara ar Vikas and Bagat Ri Barakhadi; and two monographs on Satya Prakash Joshi and Rawalon ki Rammat . Shri Charan 's translations include Adhunik Panjabi Kavitayen and Kundalo. He has edited the Rajasthani journal Jagatijot published by the Rajasthani Bhasa Sahitya Evam Sanskriti Akademi, Bikaner, and Rangyog, the journal of the Rajasthan Sangeet Natak Akademi. He has directed about thirty of his own plays, and has presented them in various cities all over the country. He has represented Rajasthan as a playwright at several playwriting workshops organized by the West Zone Cultural Centre.
For his contribution in the field of literature, Shri Arjun Deo Charan has been honoured with the Rajasthan Sahitya Akademi Award (1980), the Sahitya Akademi Award (1 992), and the Rajasthani Bhasa Sahitya Evam Sanskriti Akademi Award (1997).
Shri Arjun Deo Charan receives the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award for his contribution to playwriting in Rajasthani.